Website accessibility (WCAG)

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are used widely around the world as a benchmark for web accessibility.

All NSW Government websites must conform – at a minimum – to WCAG 2.0 Level AA.

WCAG has four main principles:

  • Perceivable – Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive.
  • Operable – User interface components and navigation must be operable.
  • Understandable – Information and the operation of user interface must be understandable.
  • Robust – Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents.

For each principle, there are a list of criteria that need to be met to make sure your online content is accessible. There are 38 techniques in total.

The ‘How to meet WCAG’ quick reference guide is a helpful starting point.

Website accessibility tips

Graphics and images

Check contrast ratios for text and images of text, and how to use text alternatives correctly.


Make video accessible by including captions or transcripts, and providing an audio-described version of the video.

PDF documents

Documents over four pages can be published as an accessible PDF with an accompanying alternative format, such as HTML or an accessible Word document.

Word documents

By applying some simple formatting styles and using the Accessibility Checker built in Microsoft Office you can start making your own accessible Word documents.


The accessibility of the form must be taken into consideration at a technical level and you should follow the WCAG techniques for creating accessible forms.


You can make your presentations accessible by following the guidance for colour contrast and the provision of alternative text on images, graphs and data.

Social media

On social media, we do not have access to make changes the platform but we can ensure our profiles are as accessible as possible through our content strategy.


Useful links to learn more about making your digital content accessible.

This information from the FACS Digital Accessibility Standard by the FACS Digital team is licensed under CC BY-NC 3.0